Australia is home to some stunning and iconic natural wonders. This list only scratches the surface of the natural wonders of this huge and diverse country.


1. Uluru

Awe-inspiring Uluru is possibly the most iconic of Australian landmarks. Situated in the National Heritage Listed Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park in the Northern Territory, Uluru is a large sandstone rock formation known for its red hue. Uluru is of great cultural and spiritual significance to the local Aboriginal, Anangu people.



2. Great Barrier Reef

The UNESCO World Heritage Listed Site, the Great Barrier Reef is the world’s largest coral reef system, covering an area of approximately 344, 400 square kilometres in northern Queensland. Home to white sand beaches, crystal clear waters and a hugely diverse, beautiful and fragile ecosystem, including four hundred species of coral.


Photograph credit: Tourism Australia
Photographer: Oliver Strewe

3. Kakadu

Located in the topmost region of the Northern Territory, Kakadu National Park is another UNESCO World Heritage Site. Kakadu is known for its diverse wetlands, Aboriginal cultural sites, including outstanding examples of Aboriginal rock art, and an abundance of diverse and magnificent wildlife.



4. Twelve Apostles

The Twelve Apostles is a collection of giant limestone rock stacks, created due to the constant erosion of the limestone cliffs on the mainland. Located along the Great Ocean Road in Victoria, the Twelve Apostles jut out of the ocean creating a spectacular site to be seen.

Photograph credit: Tourism Australia
Photographer: Chris Kapa

5. Tasmanian Wilderness (Feature Image)

The Tasmanian Wilderness World Heritage Area is one of the largest conservation areas in Australia, encompassing a network of parks and reserves. The Tasmanian wilderness is known for its diverse flora, limestone caves, majestic rivers and temperate rainforest.


Photograph credit: Tourism Australia
Photographer (feature image): Ellenor Argyropoulos